Q&a | AskTOP.net - Leader Development for Army Professionals
Award Quick: Army Award Writing Software

Understanding the Award Process

The following information is an extract from the book “Military Writing.”

Military awards fall into three categories: awards for service, achievement, and valor. An award for service recognizes outstanding work over a period of time, usually during one assignment or a deployment. In contrast, an award for achievement addresses one specific event, for example, selection as the NCO of the Year or Battalion Marksmanship Champion. Awards for valor or bravery under exceptionally dangerous circumstances generally involve service in combat. The exception to this is the Soldiers Medal, which recognizes courage in a non-combat situation, for example, jumping off a highway bridge to save someone from drowning.

Follow us and never miss a post!

Mark is a Retired Command Sergeant Major with 26 years of military leadership experience. He held 3 military occupational specialties (Field Artillery, Nuclear Weapons Tech, and Ammunition Ordnance). Mark is one of the leading military authors in the fields of leadership, counseling, and training.

You might be interested in…

Award Quick: Army Award Writing Software

Disclaimer: Though all content posted on AskTOP.net is reviewed by our qualified subject matter experts, you should not make decisions based solely on the information contained in this post. Use information from multiple sources when making important professional decisions. This is not an official government website.

Leave a Comment

We will never publish or sell your email address, nor will we ever send you information you have not requested.